Academic Programs Developed

Every full academic program starts with a curriculum of courses / modules. At Euclid, we call each module a course (noting that in the UK a “course” often refers to a full degree program) and the sequence of courses (curriculum) required to obtain a degree with called a roadmap. We use the term sequence because our learning philosophy is that knowledge is generally best delivered in a sequential rather than parallel form. In a campus setting, a student would enroll in several courses at once during a semester. This approach involves the determination of prerequisites, but many students have reported that a sequential approach would have been preferable.

Historically, Euclid began with two courses which are considered core-competency and always offered as the opening courses. These courses are ACA-401 (previously LIT-101) and TPH-499. After this, two specialized, graduate level modules were developed: DIP-401 (Diplomacy in Theory and Practice) and SD-200 (Sustainable Development). This courses are fully documented on their respective course syllabus pages.

In the process of developing these courses, the issue of compliance with international academic standards became of great importance. The problem is that back in 2007, distance / online learning was still an emerging discipline. Euclid consultants and faculty members who had experience with online programs shared their own experience and made recommendations on what would be effective standards. In general, it was determined that online / distance learning course delivery and assessment involved:

  • short response papers and reading reports
  • major response papers
  • quizzes to be answered
  • proctored closed-book examination
  • proctored open-book examination
  • oral examinations
  • portfolios
  • podcasts / webcasts / multimedia projects
  • longer assignments such as monographs, theses, dissertations with oral presentation and defense

However, it was Euclid’s determination that the way in which many institutions used these assessment methods was often less than satisfactory. Examples include:

  • uncertain standards for written assignments
  • major papers lacking structure
  • issues with proctor verification in many developing countries
  • lack of oral interaction between student and faculty.

Eventually, Euclid developed its own standards that took into account best practices and emerging accreditation norms. These standards are published in French and English on EUCLID’s web site since they were part of EUCLID’s headquarters agreement (as Annex).

As part of this comprehensive process, these 4 courses formed the foundation of Euclid’s full degree programs, which to date are as follows:

Phase 1 (2006-2008):

  • Online Master’s in Sustainable Development (now Online Master’s in Sustainable Development and Diplomacy)
  • Online Master’s in Diplomacy and International Affairs
  • Online Master’s in Inter-Religious Dialogue / Comparative Theology

Phase 2 (2008-2010):

  • Online MBA in Sustainable Development
  • Online PhD in Sustainable Development
  • Online PhD in Diplomacy and International Relations

Phase 3 (2008-2011):

  • Online MBA in Islamic Finance
  • Online MBA in International Organizations

Phase 4 (2013-2014):

  • Online Master’s in Energy
  • Online Master’s in International Public Health

Phase 5 (2015):

  • Joint Degree programs with COMESA -LLPI (via EUCLID)
  • Joint Degree programs with CAFRAD (via EUCLID)